Connecting a 7800DXL and 7800N with LAN Ports

Post Reply
LasherUK
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 8:52 pm

Connecting a 7800DXL and 7800N with LAN Ports

Post by LasherUK » Sun Nov 22, 2015 3:24 pm

I have a really annoying problem which is driving me mad. I have a FTTC broadband connection which uses the ISP supplied router as a modem. This is connected to my 7800DXL which is the heart of my network and my DCHP server. I want to repurpose my old 7800N as a wireless AP and desktop switch. I would normally connect the 7800N EWAN port to my network and set it to bridge mode but the EWAN port is only 100Mb and with a CAT6A network I can't bring myself to compromise on that.

I have read elsewhere that I can connect the 7800N via one of the LAN ports. My problem is that both routers have the same default IP address, 192.168.1.254. I would like the 7800N to take its IP address from the 7800DXL's DHCP Server but so far I haven't had any success. I have tried assigning the 7800N's IP address manually, outside the 7800DXL's DHCP range to avoid the conflict but it is still not playing ball.

7800DXL is running firmware version 2.32e and the 7800N is running version 1.06h.dt2.

Does anyone have any suggestions for how I can make the 7800N behave like a bridge without using the 100Mb EWAN port?

billion_fan
Posts: 5223
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Connecting a 7800DXL and 7800N with LAN Ports

Post by billion_fan » Mon Nov 23, 2015 9:29 am

LasherUK wrote:I have a really annoying problem which is driving me mad. I have a FTTC broadband connection which uses the ISP supplied router as a modem. This is connected to my 7800DXL which is the heart of my network and my DCHP server. I want to repurpose my old 7800N as a wireless AP and desktop switch. I would normally connect the 7800N EWAN port to my network and set it to bridge mode but the EWAN port is only 100Mb and with a CAT6A network I can't bring myself to compromise on that.

I have read elsewhere that I can connect the 7800N via one of the LAN ports. My problem is that both routers have the same default IP address, 192.168.1.254. I would like the 7800N to take its IP address from the 7800DXL's DHCP Server but so far I haven't had any success. I have tried assigning the 7800N's IP address manually, outside the 7800DXL's DHCP range to avoid the conflict but it is still not playing ball.

7800DXL is running firmware version 2.32e and the 7800N is running version 1.06h.dt2.

Does anyone have any suggestions for how I can make the 7800N behave like a bridge without using the 100Mb EWAN port?

1. First change the IP address of the 7800N to something outside the DHCP range eg 192.168.1.253
2. Login to the 7800N and disable the DHCP server and enable wireless security etc
3. Plug a Ethernet cable from the 7800DXL to any of the four LAN ports on the 7800N
4. Release/renew the IP addresses of any devices connected to the 7800N

That should be it.

LasherUK
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 8:52 pm

Re: Connecting a 7800DXL and 7800N with LAN Ports

Post by LasherUK » Tue Nov 24, 2015 3:48 pm

Thanks billion_fan I will try this again. I'm pretty sure I performed the same steps you suggested except I assigned a fixed IP address to the 7800N based on its MAC. However I couldn't ping it or access it after I had plugged the 7800N into the 7800DXL.

billion_fan
Posts: 5223
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Connecting a 7800DXL and 7800N with LAN Ports

Post by billion_fan » Tue Nov 24, 2015 4:05 pm

LasherUK wrote:Thanks billion_fan I will try this again. I'm pretty sure I performed the same steps you suggested except I assigned a fixed IP address to the 7800N based on its MAC. However I couldn't ping it or access it after I had plugged the 7800N into the 7800DXL.
Theres no need to assign a fixed IP using the MAC, as you won't be using the EWAN port, the setup will turn the 7800N into a wireless/hub switch so you can connect 3 devices via the gigalan port, if you want to access it, you can use the LAN IP address of the 7800N, which is what you set outside the DHCP range.

You should be fine, others are using the same setup :D (don't forget to change the WAN mode to DSL, as you won't be using the EWAN mode, also you can change the LAN IP of the 7800N under 'Advanced >> Configuration >> LAN' so it does not match your 7800DXL and don't forget to disable the DHCP server, you don't need to setup the device's WAN in bridging mode)

Bluesmachine100
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 9:03 am

Re: Connecting a 7800DXL and 7800N with LAN Ports

Post by Bluesmachine100 » Fri Feb 10, 2017 9:05 am

billion_fan wrote:
LasherUK wrote:I have a really annoying problem which is driving me mad. I have a FTTC broadband connection which uses the ISP supplied router as a modem. This is connected to my 7800DXL which is the heart of my network and my DCHP server. I want to repurpose my old 7800N as a wireless AP and desktop switch. I would normally connect the 7800N EWAN port to my network and set it to bridge mode but the EWAN port is only 100Mb and with a CAT6A network I can't bring myself to compromise on that.

I have read elsewhere that I can connect the 7800N via one of the LAN ports. My problem is that both routers have the same default IP address, 192.168.1.254. I would like the 7800N to take its IP address from the 7800DXL's DHCP Server but so far I haven't had any success. I have tried assigning the 7800N's IP address manually, outside the 7800DXL's DHCP range to avoid the conflict but it is still not playing ball.

7800DXL is running firmware version 2.32e and the 7800N is running version 1.06h.dt2.

Does anyone have any suggestions for how I can make the 7800N behave like a bridge without using the 100Mb EWAN port?

1. First change the IP address of the 7800N to something outside the DHCP range eg 192.168.1.253
2. Login to the 7800N and disable the DHCP server and enable wireless security etc
3. Plug a Ethernet cable from the 7800DXL to any of the four LAN ports on the 7800N
4. Release/renew the IP addresses of any devices connected to the 7800N

That should be it.
Just thought I'd register to thank you for this info. I now have daisy chained 7800N & 7800NXL routers :)

Post Reply