7300N for fibre?

Discussions for BiPAC 7300 series: 7300, 7300G, 7300N..etc
Post Reply
lemmyc
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:48 pm

7300N for fibre?

Post by lemmyc » Sat Nov 09, 2013 1:51 pm

Hi,
I have a Bipac 7300N, and I'm switching from a Zen broadband package to a Zen fibre package. I see that I can use one of the Ethernet ports as a wan port, so I'm guessing that the router is compatible with fibre. I'm wondering though if this router will give me full potential speeds with a fibre connection, or if there are any other limitations I should be aware of when using it for this purpose. Zen advertise their service (which I'm guessing is just BT) as having speeds up to 38Mbps / 9.5Mbps download/upload. Would the 8700N be a better option?
Thanks.

billion_fan
Posts: 5218
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 7300N for fibre?

Post by billion_fan » Mon Nov 11, 2013 9:54 am

lemmyc wrote:Hi,
I have a Bipac 7300N, and I'm switching from a Zen broadband package to a Zen fibre package. I see that I can use one of the Ethernet ports as a wan port, so I'm guessing that the router is compatible with fibre. I'm wondering though if this router will give me full potential speeds with a fibre connection, or if there are any other limitations I should be aware of when using it for this purpose. Zen advertise their service (which I'm guessing is just BT) as having speeds up to 38Mbps / 9.5Mbps download/upload. Would the 8700N be a better option?
Thanks.
The Bipac 8200N is one box solution (VDSL modem/router with N wireless), the Bipac 7300N has a limitation of 30mbps when using FTTC.

lemmyc
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:48 pm

Re: 7300N for fibre?

Post by lemmyc » Mon Nov 11, 2013 1:38 pm

Thanks, that's useful info. Are the upload speeds limited too, do you know?

billion_fan
Posts: 5218
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 7300N for fibre?

Post by billion_fan » Mon Nov 11, 2013 2:44 pm

lemmyc wrote:Thanks, that's useful info. Are the upload speeds limited too, do you know?
I think they are, also at 30mbps

lemmyc
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 12:48 pm

Re: 7300N for fibre?

Post by lemmyc » Mon Nov 11, 2013 8:58 pm

OK - it should be fine then. I'll do some speed tests when the line is connected, but I'm guessing 30mbps downloads is going to be enough for me.
Thanks.

Post Reply