Changed 'admin' username, now don't get admin access

Discussions for BiPAC 8800 series: 8800NL
Post Reply
evansnp
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:28 am

Changed 'admin' username, now don't get admin access

Post by evansnp » Thu Jul 16, 2020 11:14 am

Hi Billion_Fan. Yesterday, I changed the username of the admin account, using the method that you suggested in another thread i.e. backup config, edit the file, re-load the config. It all appeared to be fine until I tried to access the config pages, which are very sparse, as though I've logged in with low privileges. I can't get to the 'restore config' menu , so cannot re-load the original config. Did I miss something when I edited the config file, and how can I get back to where I was?

billion_fan
Posts: 5224
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Changed 'admin' username, now don't get admin access

Post by billion_fan » Thu Jul 16, 2020 11:28 am

evansnp wrote:
Thu Jul 16, 2020 11:14 am
Hi Billion_Fan. Yesterday, I changed the username of the admin account, using the method that you suggested in another thread i.e. backup config, edit the file, re-load the config. It all appeared to be fine until I tried to access the config pages, which are very sparse, as though I've logged in with low privileges. I can't get to the 'restore config' menu , so cannot re-load the original config. Did I miss something when I edited the config file, and how can I get back to where I was?
The only option is to reset the device back to factory default settings using the paper clip or pin.

Then restore the un-edited config file

evansnp
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:28 am

Re: Changed 'admin' username, now don't get admin access

Post by evansnp » Thu Jul 16, 2020 11:31 am

Hi Bilion_Fan. I was hoping that you wouldn't say that! Any idea what has happened? I've just compared the pre & post edited files, and the only thing that I can think of is that I used some capitals in the username, there is no other difference.

billion_fan
Posts: 5224
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Changed 'admin' username, now don't get admin access

Post by billion_fan » Thu Jul 16, 2020 11:47 am

evansnp wrote:
Thu Jul 16, 2020 11:31 am
Hi Bilion_Fan. I was hoping that you wouldn't say that! Any idea what has happened? I've just compared the pre & post edited files, and the only thing that I can think of is that I used some capitals in the username, there is no other difference.
Not sure what went wrong, we don't normally advise editing the config and restore as sometimes these things can happen.

Post Reply