Help with AV200 setup

Discussions for BiPAC Homplug products: P106N, P106R2, 2073N, 2074..etc
Post Reply
Yaffle
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 8:28 pm

Help with AV200 setup

Post by Yaffle » Sun Sep 25, 2016 8:37 pm

Hello all

As ever, I am after help and can't seem to find out how to make this work.

Here's my setup -
I have a 7800DXL connected to the outside world, it acts as a modem.

Connected to that by ethernet I have a 2073 R2 powerline

At the end of the powerline I have another 2073 R2. This works well.

Now comes the bad bit. I am trying to extend the wireless cover here, so I have a 2073N. I can make it connect to the powerline, but I want it to act as a wireless extension to my wireless, er, network. It's out of range to be able to just use the extant signal and (I guess) repeat it, so I'd like it to act as a wireless access point with the same SSID as my 7800DXL so we get the same network all over the house.

This would seem to be impossible. No setting allows this, what am I missing? Can someone explain what bridge mode, repeater mode and Lazy Mode means? bridge seems to be the one I want, but the description seems to mean that all it does is prevent anything accessing the wifi, which seems a tad pointless.

Help me Billion UK form, you're my only hope.

billion_fan
Posts: 5218
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Help with AV200 setup

Post by billion_fan » Mon Sep 26, 2016 9:42 am

Yaffle wrote:Hello all

As ever, I am after help and can't seem to find out how to make this work.

Here's my setup -
I have a 7800DXL connected to the outside world, it acts as a modem.

Connected to that by ethernet I have a 2073 R2 powerline

At the end of the powerline I have another 2073 R2. This works well.

Now comes the bad bit. I am trying to extend the wireless cover here, so I have a 2073N. I can make it connect to the powerline, but I want it to act as a wireless extension to my wireless, er, network. It's out of range to be able to just use the extant signal and (I guess) repeat it, so I'd like it to act as a wireless access point with the same SSID as my 7800DXL so we get the same network all over the house.

This would seem to be impossible. No setting allows this, what am I missing? Can someone explain what bridge mode, repeater mode and Lazy Mode means? bridge seems to be the one I want, but the description seems to mean that all it does is prevent anything accessing the wifi, which seems a tad pointless.

Help me Billion UK form, you're my only hope.
You want to use the powerline service, the wireless AP Client mode or Bridge WDS mode is not needed. (as they will be communicating with each other via powerline, which is more reliable)

If you have the PLC light on, on all three devices you should be fine.

Once powered up, login to the 2073N (http://192.168.1.253), and change the SSID (Wireless Settings >> Basic), security password (Wireless Settings >> Security), and channel to match your 7800DXL.

The AV 200's work as bridge, so just bridging the connection from the router, so you will be on the same network

Yaffle
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 8:28 pm

Re: Help with AV200 setup

Post by Yaffle » Mon Sep 26, 2016 9:45 am

Brilliant, I will try this when I get home from work.

Thanks for the fast response.

L

Post Reply