What is the latest firmware version?

Discussions for BiPAC 8900 series: 8900AX-1600, 8900AX-2400, 8900X
Post Reply
John21
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2016 11:37 pm

What is the latest firmware version?

Post by John21 » Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:51 pm

Looking here:- http://www.billion.uk.com/esupport/inde ... 900ax-2400

The latest appears to be 2.52.d27 but there are numerous comments here about using later firmware?

So which is correct?

I have found wi-fi a bit less reliable on d27 compared to previous firmware, so wouldn't mind trying the latest one if available?

billion_fan
Posts: 5224
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: What is the latest firmware version?

Post by billion_fan » Fri Feb 22, 2019 9:25 am

John21 wrote:
Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:51 pm
Looking here:- http://www.billion.uk.com/esupport/inde ... 900ax-2400

The latest appears to be 2.52.d27 but there are numerous comments here about using later firmware?

So which is correct?

I have found wi-fi a bit less reliable on d27 compared to previous firmware, so wouldn't mind trying the latest one if available?
Attached is the latest firmware, with newer 5ghz driver, if you are upgrading with the current settings option, once upgraded you will need to setup the wireless password again on the 5ghz band.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

gatekeeper
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 4:45 pm

Re: What is the latest firmware version?

Post by gatekeeper » Fri Feb 22, 2019 3:09 pm

Does d36 include bug fixes other than the wireless one?

billion_fan
Posts: 5224
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: What is the latest firmware version?

Post by billion_fan » Fri Feb 22, 2019 3:58 pm

gatekeeper wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 3:09 pm
Does d36 include bug fixes other than the wireless one?
Release Note :
1. “Fixed UDP not working issue”.

2. “New UPnP patch from Broadcom”.

3. “Update SNTP server setting”.

4. “Update new Quantenna wireless driver”.

5. “Fixed WAN Service description box adds an extra .101”.

John21
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2016 11:37 pm

Re: What is the latest firmware version?

Post by John21 » Sat Feb 23, 2019 1:12 am

billion_fan wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 9:25 am
John21 wrote:
Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:51 pm
Looking here:- http://www.billion.uk.com/esupport/inde ... 900ax-2400

The latest appears to be 2.52.d27 but there are numerous comments here about using later firmware?

So which is correct?

I have found wi-fi a bit less reliable on d27 compared to previous firmware, so wouldn't mind trying the latest one if available?
Attached is the latest firmware, with newer 5ghz driver, if you are upgrading with the current settings option, once upgraded you will need to setup the wireless password again on the 5ghz band.
Many thanks for this! Is there any reason this version hasn't been released officially?

billion_fan
Posts: 5224
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: What is the latest firmware version?

Post by billion_fan » Mon Feb 25, 2019 9:29 am

John21 wrote:
Sat Feb 23, 2019 1:12 am
billion_fan wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 9:25 am
John21 wrote:
Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:51 pm
Looking here:- http://www.billion.uk.com/esupport/inde ... 900ax-2400

The latest appears to be 2.52.d27 but there are numerous comments here about using later firmware?

So which is correct?

I have found wi-fi a bit less reliable on d27 compared to previous firmware, so wouldn't mind trying the latest one if available?
Attached is the latest firmware, with newer 5ghz driver, if you are upgrading with the current settings option, once upgraded you will need to setup the wireless password again on the 5ghz band.
Many thanks for this! Is there any reason this version hasn't been released officially?
If we receive positive feedback on this firmware, it will be officially released

PDilly
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 4:52 pm

Re: What is the latest firmware version?

Post by PDilly » Tue Mar 26, 2019 11:15 pm

I updated from d27 to d36 a couple of days ago.
Ever since, I’ve had dreadful trouble with my 3100SN AP even though it’s hardwired to the 8900.
I connect to the 3100 but sometimes nothing happens the whirly wheels just keep turning
I updated using existing settings
Is there any setting I should check?

billion_fan
Posts: 5224
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: What is the latest firmware version?

Post by billion_fan » Fri Apr 05, 2019 11:56 am

PDilly wrote:
Tue Mar 26, 2019 11:15 pm
I updated from d27 to d36 a couple of days ago.
Ever since, I’ve had dreadful trouble with my 3100SN AP even though it’s hardwired to the 8900.
I connect to the 3100 but sometimes nothing happens the whirly wheels just keep turning
I updated using existing settings
Is there any setting I should check?
As its hard wired it should not be a issue, have you tried to put the IP address of the 3100SN outside the DHCP range to ensure no IP conflicts.

Also have you tried changing the channel on the 3100SN so it does not conflict with the 2.4ghz channel on the 8900AX.

Finally when you fail to connect to the 3100SN (whirly wheels) can you connect to the IP address of the 3100SN from a wired device connected to the 8900AX (so we can check the connectivity between the 3100SN and 8900AX)

PDilly
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 4:52 pm

Re: What is the latest firmware version?

Post by PDilly » Fri Apr 05, 2019 5:30 pm

billion_fan wrote:
Fri Apr 05, 2019 11:56 am
PDilly wrote:
Tue Mar 26, 2019 11:15 pm
I updated from d27 to d36 a couple of days ago.
Ever since, I’ve had dreadful trouble with my 3100SN AP even though it’s hardwired to the 8900.
I connect to the 3100 but sometimes nothing happens the whirly wheels just keep turning
I updated using existing settings
Is there any setting I should check?
As its hard wired it should not be a issue, have you tried to put the IP address of the 3100SN outside the DHCP range to ensure no IP conflicts.

Also have you tried changing the channel on the 3100SN so it does not conflict with the 2.4ghz channel on the 8900AX.

Finally when you fail to connect to the 3100SN (whirly wheels) can you connect to the IP address of the 3100SN from a wired device connected to the 8900AX (so we can check the connectivity between the 3100SN and 8900AX)
Hi BF,
3100 SN is set outside the DHCP range of the 8900 - 1.253 8900 is 1.254 DHCP is up to 200
both on different channels (1 & 13)
Yes, can log into 3100SN UI from iMac hardwired to 8900

In the early days, I had a compatibility issue with the 3100 and an iPad 4 that kept losing my Sonos speakers. when we swapped to iPad Air 2's, the issue stopped.

We just upgraded to 2018 iPad Pro's and its those that have trouble. I wonder if its old tech versus new tech. The Pro's would take simultaneous dual band wifi.

All that said, everything was stable before we updated the f/w

Be interested to know your thoughts

regards
PD

PDilly
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 4:52 pm

Re: What is the latest firmware version?

Post by PDilly » Sun Apr 07, 2019 8:54 am

PDilly wrote:
Fri Apr 05, 2019 5:30 pm
billion_fan wrote:
Fri Apr 05, 2019 11:56 am
PDilly wrote:
Tue Mar 26, 2019 11:15 pm
I updated from d27 to d36 a couple of days ago.
Ever since, I’ve had dreadful trouble with my 3100SN AP even though it’s hardwired to the 8900.
I connect to the 3100 but sometimes nothing happens the whirly wheels just keep turning
I updated using existing settings
Is there any setting I should check?
As its hard wired it should not be a issue, have you tried to put the IP address of the 3100SN outside the DHCP range to ensure no IP conflicts.

Also have you tried changing the channel on the 3100SN so it does not conflict with the 2.4ghz channel on the 8900AX.

Finally when you fail to connect to the 3100SN (whirly wheels) can you connect to the IP address of the 3100SN from a wired device connected to the 8900AX (so we can check the connectivity between the 3100SN and 8900AX)
Hi BF,
3100 SN is set outside the DHCP range of the 8900 - 1.253 8900 is 1.254 DHCP is up to 200
both on different channels (1 & 13)
Yes, can log into 3100SN UI from iMac hardwired to 8900

In the early days, I had a compatibility issue with the 3100 and an iPad 4 that kept losing my Sonos speakers. when we swapped to iPad Air 2's, the issue stopped.

We just upgraded to 2018 iPad Pro's and its those that have trouble. I wonder if its old tech versus new tech. The Pro's would take simultaneous dual band wifi.

All that said, everything was stable before we updated the f/w

Be interested to know your thoughts

regards
PD
UPDATE

Yesterday, my network just lost the plot. Neither wireless AP was talking to the router and even an iPad next to the router was struggling.

I downgraded back to d27 and everything is talking again. It was fully stable overnight too.

Post Reply