8800AXL & HG612 Setup

Discussions for BiPAC 8800 series: 8800NL
Post Reply
Mike306
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2015 9:16 am

8800AXL & HG612 Setup

Post by Mike306 » Tue May 12, 2020 3:31 pm

I would like to use my 8800AXL in router mode and use with the Openreach HG612 modem.

I did try connecting the HG612 to the WAN port of the 8800AXL but can not getting it working so not sure how the 8800AXL should be set up

Please can you advise how best to set this up?

billion_fan
Posts: 5165
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 8800AXL & HG612 Setup

Post by billion_fan » Tue May 12, 2020 3:42 pm

Mike306 wrote:
Tue May 12, 2020 3:31 pm
I would like to use my 8800AXL in router mode and use with the Openreach HG612 modem.

I did try connecting the HG612 to the WAN port of the 8800AXL but can not getting it working so not sure how the 8800AXL should be set up

Please can you advise how best to set this up?
What you need to do is add a new Ethernet >> WAN connection, to the Billion. The following setup is for using a external modem with normal ISP's that support a PPPoE connection eg BT, PlusNet, Zen, IDnet etc, the below setup will not work with Sky or Talktalk Home. (you haven't specified your ISP so I have only listed the setup for the most common ISP's)

1. Login to the router
2. Click on 'Configuration >> WAN >> WAN Service
3. Click on 'Add'
4. Change the 'WAN Port' to 'Ethernet'
5. Change the 'Type' to PPPoE and enter your broadband username and password in the sections provided
6. Click on 'Next'
7. Under 'Available Routed WAN Interfaces' you will see the new Ethernet PPPoE interface, click on it to select it, and click on the arrow pointing left, so the interface should be listed under 'Selected Default Gateway Interfaces'
8. Do the same for the DNS severs below (select the PPPoE interface listed under 'Available WAN Interfaces' and click on the arrow pointing left so it should be listed under 'Selected DNS Server Interfaces'
9. Click on 'Next'
10. Now plug a Ethernet connection from your HG612 to the EWAN port (Red port 5) on the Billion,

Mike306
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2015 9:16 am

Re: 8800AXL & HG612 Setup

Post by Mike306 » Tue May 12, 2020 4:02 pm

Thanks for the quick reply, yes I should have said who my ISP is!

It's TalkTalk Business, is it possible to set it up to work with them?

billion_fan
Posts: 5165
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 8800AXL & HG612 Setup

Post by billion_fan » Tue May 12, 2020 4:24 pm

Mike306 wrote:
Tue May 12, 2020 4:02 pm
Thanks for the quick reply, yes I should have said who my ISP is!

It's TalkTalk Business, is it possible to set it up to work with them?
If its talktalk business then you can follow the steps posted (you will need your talktalk business broadband username and password to proceed)

Mike306
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2015 9:16 am

Re: 8800AXL & HG612 Setup

Post by Mike306 » Tue May 12, 2020 5:17 pm

billion_fan wrote:
Tue May 12, 2020 4:24 pm
If its talktalk business then you can follow the steps posted (you will need your talktalk business broadband username and password to proceed)
Great, many thanks for your help.

Post Reply