Page 2 of 2

Re: 8800nlr2 as modem with netgear R7500 as router...

Posted: Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:14 pm
by Pyranna
Hi there, my only options are pppoe, pptp and l2tp.

Re: 8800nlr2 as modem with netgear R7500 as router...

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 9:18 am
by billion_fan
Pyranna wrote:
Tue Jan 29, 2019 10:14 pm
Hi there, my only options are pppoe, pptp and l2tp.
Only talktalk business uses PPPoE, if you are on standard talktalk home the protocol they use is IPoE or DHCP (obtain a IP address automatically through the WAN port the netgear must have this option is quite common protocol) or if you can setup the device for a Virgin media setup, it will work, (as it uses the same setup method EWAN >> IPoE)

Re: 8800nlr2 as modem with netgear R7500 as router...

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 12:13 pm
by Pyranna
Can you confirm if Billion make a high performance router/modem that could do away with my netgear and modem? I suspect that I am unable to use my netgear with the 8800nlr2 in bridging mode...

Re: 8800nlr2 as modem with netgear R7500 as router...

Posted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 12:45 pm
by billion_fan
Pyranna wrote:
Wed Jan 30, 2019 12:13 pm
Can you confirm if Billion make a high performance router/modem that could do away with my netgear and modem? I suspect that I am unable to use my netgear with the 8800nlr2 in bridging mode...

The best one will be Bipac 8900AX-2400. (one box solution)

More information about this model is below

http://uk.billion.com/Business%7CSoHo/x ... 900AX-2400