8800nlr2 as modem with netgear R7500 as router...

Discussions for BiPAC 8800 series: 8800NL
Pyranna
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 9:37 pm

8800nlr2 as modem with netgear R7500 as router...

Post by Pyranna » Sun Jan 27, 2019 9:51 pm

Hi there,

I hope some one can help me. I have just purchased the 8800nlr2 modem router to replace an eci modem which I have been using for about 5 years. I'm with talktalk isp. I have managed to get the modem connected to talktalk however I cannot for the life of me get it connected to my netgear R7500 router! I'm sure I am doing something wrong but I can't get to the bottom of it. I assume the 8800nlr2 modem is connected from the ewan port 5 to the Internet port of my netgear router. My netgear is the gateway and is configured as dhcp from 192.168.1.2 to 192.168.1.200. The 8800nlr2 is still on 192.168.1.254. I keep seeing references to the modem being on a different sub net but tbh I don't fully understand why. Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.... πŸ˜‰.

Many thanks

Alex.

billion_fan
Posts: 5222
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 8800nlr2 as modem with netgear R7500 as router...

Post by billion_fan » Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:25 am

Pyranna wrote: ↑
Sun Jan 27, 2019 9:51 pm
Hi there,

I hope some one can help me. I have just purchased the 8800nlr2 modem router to replace an eci modem which I have been using for about 5 years. I'm with talktalk isp. I have managed to get the modem connected to talktalk however I cannot for the life of me get it connected to my netgear R7500 router! I'm sure I am doing something wrong but I can't get to the bottom of it. I assume the 8800nlr2 modem is connected from the ewan port 5 to the Internet port of my netgear router. My netgear is the gateway and is configured as dhcp from 192.168.1.2 to 192.168.1.200. The 8800nlr2 is still on 192.168.1.254. I keep seeing references to the modem being on a different sub net but tbh I don't fully understand why. Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.... πŸ˜‰.

Many thanks

Alex.
I would suggest setting the 8800NL R2 in 'Bridging' mode then setup the netgears WAN to a IPOE connection (assuming you are on a VDSL/FTTC connection with talktalk)

Attached is screen shot example of setting the 8800NL R2 to 'Bridging' mode (modem mode) (you only need the bridging PTM interface, if you have any other PTM interfaces on the WAN service page delete them so you are only left with the 'Bridging' interface)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Pyranna
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 9:37 pm

Re: 8800nlr2 as modem with netgear R7500 as router...

Post by Pyranna » Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:48 am

Thanks for the quick response. I will give that a go. Is there anything specific I need to do for my netgear router, ie auto connect to isp or add isp details in? I assume I connect the 8800nlr2 ewan port to the Internet port on my netgear? Is the 8800nlr2 OK on it's standard ip address? Just trying to preempt any silly mistakes... Lol

billion_fan
Posts: 5222
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 8800nlr2 as modem with netgear R7500 as router...

Post by billion_fan » Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:55 am

Pyranna wrote: ↑
Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:48 am
Thanks for the quick response. I will give that a go. Is there anything specific I need to do for my netgear router, ie auto connect to isp or add isp details in? I assume I connect the 8800nlr2 ewan port to the Internet port on my netgear? Is the 8800nlr2 OK on it's standard ip address? Just trying to preempt any silly mistakes... Lol

The IP address should be fine in Bridging mode, if you setup the 8800NL to normal router mode then the IP will need to be changed eg 192.168.2.x

Once the Billion is setup in bridging and the EWAN port is connected to netgear, you just need to configure the netgear for talktalk connection (like you did with your eci modem)

Pyranna
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 9:37 pm

Re: 8800nlr2 as modem with netgear R7500 as router...

Post by Pyranna » Mon Jan 28, 2019 11:23 am

Ok thanks. Sorry for the question's, but in bridging mode do you still see the link speed's and line quality as this is the main reason I purchased this modem/router as the eci modem is not configurable nor can you see what the link is doing. The eci modem is just plugged in and off you go.

billion_fan
Posts: 5222
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 8800nlr2 as modem with netgear R7500 as router...

Post by billion_fan » Mon Jan 28, 2019 11:56 am

Pyranna wrote: ↑
Mon Jan 28, 2019 11:23 am
Ok thanks. Sorry for the question's, but in bridging mode do you still see the link speed's and line quality as this is the main reason I purchased this modem/router as the eci modem is not configurable nor can you see what the link is doing. The eci modem is just plugged in and off you go.
Yes you can, but you will need a direct connection to the 8800NL with a static IP set to your LAN within the same range eg LAN - 192.168.1.200, 8800NL - 192.168.1.254

Pyranna
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 9:37 pm

Re: 8800nlr2 as modem with netgear R7500 as router...

Post by Pyranna » Mon Jan 28, 2019 3:31 pm

Do you mean an additional cable from port 1 say to a spare port on my router? If the 8800nlr2 sits outside my dhcp range do I need to give it a static ip address?

billion_fan
Posts: 5222
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 8800nlr2 as modem with netgear R7500 as router...

Post by billion_fan » Mon Jan 28, 2019 3:35 pm

Pyranna wrote: ↑
Mon Jan 28, 2019 3:31 pm
Do you mean an additional cable from port 1 say to a spare port on my router? If the 8800nlr2 sits outside my dhcp range do I need to give it a static ip address?
No all you need is a cable from the 8800NL (EWAN port) to the WAN port on the netgear.

The 8800NL should already have a static LAN IP 192.168.1.254

Pyranna
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 9:37 pm

Re: 8800nlr2 as modem with netgear R7500 as router...

Post by Pyranna » Mon Jan 28, 2019 7:13 pm

Hi, this isn't working... I don't believe my netgear router can support ipoe. I have done everything as directed but I can't access the 8800nlr2 while the ewan port is connected to my netgear Internet port. Any other suggestions?

billion_fan
Posts: 5222
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 8800nlr2 as modem with netgear R7500 as router...

Post by billion_fan » Tue Jan 29, 2019 9:17 am

Pyranna wrote: ↑
Mon Jan 28, 2019 7:13 pm
Hi, this isn't working... I don't believe my netgear router can support ipoe. I have done everything as directed but I can't access the 8800nlr2 while the ewan port is connected to my netgear Internet port. Any other suggestions?
What WAN option do you have on the netgear?? eg PPPoE etc

Post Reply