8800NL R2 and TalkTalk

Discussions for BiPAC 8800 series: 8800NL
Post Reply
jamesjay
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 6:34 pm

8800NL R2 and TalkTalk

Post by jamesjay » Sat Aug 18, 2018 11:48 am

I had been using the above router in bridging mode and using my 7800DXL as the router without any problems since July 2017 until about a month or so ago when the 8800 started dropping my internet fibre connection, I would restart the router and then it would be OK for a while and disconnect again after a couple of hours.

I was using SW version 2.52.d10 and went back to 2.52.d3 but that didn't work...I have even changed the 8800 IP address from 192.168.2.254 to 192.168.4.254 leaving the 7800 on the default IP address...and this didn't work, I suspect it is either a fault with the 8800 or that TalkTalk are blocking the 8800 because if I go back to using the TalkTalk HG633 I don't lose the internet connection. BTW I am using the 8800 now and I think the green internet light could be showing as still connected even after I lose the connection, I am trying to confirm this at the moment.

Kind regards,
James.

billion_fan
Posts: 5205
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 8800NL R2 and TalkTalk

Post by billion_fan » Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:30 am

jamesjay wrote:
Sat Aug 18, 2018 11:48 am
I had been using the above router in bridging mode and using my 7800DXL as the router without any problems since July 2017 until about a month or so ago when the 8800 started dropping my internet fibre connection, I would restart the router and then it would be OK for a while and disconnect again after a couple of hours.

I was using SW version 2.52.d10 and went back to 2.52.d3 but that didn't work...I have even changed the 8800 IP address from 192.168.2.254 to 192.168.4.254 leaving the 7800 on the default IP address...and this didn't work, I suspect it is either a fault with the 8800 or that TalkTalk are blocking the 8800 because if I go back to using the TalkTalk HG633 I don't lose the internet connection. BTW I am using the 8800 now and I think the green internet light could be showing as still connected even after I lose the connection, I am trying to confirm this at the moment.

Kind regards,
James.
Do you have a copy of your system log when the issue occurs, you will have to setup the 'Display Level and Log Level' to 'Debugging' before the issue occurs. (Configuration >> System >>> Configure Log') then once the issue occurs, login to the 8800 and copy and paste the system log and post here so I can see what the issue might be.

jamesjay
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 6:34 pm

Re: 8800NL R2 and TalkTalk

Post by jamesjay » Mon Aug 20, 2018 3:30 pm

billion_fan wrote:
Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:30 am
jamesjay wrote:
Sat Aug 18, 2018 11:48 am
I had been using the above router in bridging mode and using my 7800DXL as the router without any problems since July 2017 until about a month or so ago when the 8800 started dropping my internet fibre connection, I would restart the router and then it would be OK for a while and disconnect again after a couple of hours.

I was using SW version 2.52.d10 and went back to 2.52.d3 but that didn't work...I have even changed the 8800 IP address from 192.168.2.254 to 192.168.4.254 leaving the 7800 on the default IP address...and this didn't work, I suspect it is either a fault with the 8800 or that TalkTalk are blocking the 8800 because if I go back to using the TalkTalk HG633 I don't lose the internet connection. BTW I am using the 8800 now and I think the green internet light could be showing as still connected even after I lose the connection, I am trying to confirm this at the moment.

Kind regards,
James.
Do you have a copy of your system log when the issue occurs, you will have to setup the 'Display Level and Log Level' to 'Debugging' before the issue occurs. (Configuration >> System >>> Configure Log') then once the issue occurs, login to the 8800 and copy and paste the system log and post here so I can see what the issue might be.
Thanks for your reply Billion_fan,

So far it hasn't happened again over the weekend but I have had a problem with the login on the 8800 since changing to the 192.168.4.254 IP address...it keeps timing out.

I will try later using an Ethernet cable and configure log' as you have suggested so it is ready for the next time.

Thanks again,
James

billion_fan
Posts: 5205
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 8800NL R2 and TalkTalk

Post by billion_fan » Mon Aug 20, 2018 3:41 pm

jamesjay wrote:
Mon Aug 20, 2018 3:30 pm
billion_fan wrote:
Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:30 am
jamesjay wrote:
Sat Aug 18, 2018 11:48 am
I had been using the above router in bridging mode and using my 7800DXL as the router without any problems since July 2017 until about a month or so ago when the 8800 started dropping my internet fibre connection, I would restart the router and then it would be OK for a while and disconnect again after a couple of hours.

I was using SW version 2.52.d10 and went back to 2.52.d3 but that didn't work...I have even changed the 8800 IP address from 192.168.2.254 to 192.168.4.254 leaving the 7800 on the default IP address...and this didn't work, I suspect it is either a fault with the 8800 or that TalkTalk are blocking the 8800 because if I go back to using the TalkTalk HG633 I don't lose the internet connection. BTW I am using the 8800 now and I think the green internet light could be showing as still connected even after I lose the connection, I am trying to confirm this at the moment.

Kind regards,
James.
Do you have a copy of your system log when the issue occurs, you will have to setup the 'Display Level and Log Level' to 'Debugging' before the issue occurs. (Configuration >> System >>> Configure Log') then once the issue occurs, login to the 8800 and copy and paste the system log and post here so I can see what the issue might be.
Thanks for your reply Billion_fan,

So far it hasn't happened again over the weekend but I have had a problem with the login on the 8800 since changing to the 192.168.4.254 IP address...it keeps timing out.

I will try later using an Ethernet cable and configure log' as you have suggested so it is ready for the next time.

Thanks again,
James
You might need to set a static IP address to your LAN card within the same range of the router eg 192.168.4.200 to access 192.168.4.254

jamesjay
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 6:34 pm

Re: 8800NL R2 and TalkTalk

Post by jamesjay » Tue Aug 21, 2018 12:05 pm

[/quote]

You might need to set a static IP address to your LAN card within the same range of the router eg 192.168.4.200 to access 192.168.4.254
[/quote]

Thanks again changing the LAN IP did help with connection.

As you can see from the screenshot it as been running OK for nearly 2 days without a disconnection, I have blocked out the mac address and just noticed the clock was wrong so I have synced the clock on the router, I am not sure if there is anything odd that stands out on this summary page?

On the log I have changed both settings to debugging I hope this is what you wanted me to do? I did check the log page and there were was only a log showing an incorrect time so I cleared it.

Thanks again,
James.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

jamesjay
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 6:34 pm

Re: 8800NL R2 and TalkTalk

Post by jamesjay » Tue Aug 21, 2018 4:57 pm

I think that something as changed in my settings, the internet led/connect is now off on the 8800 see first picture and the internet LED is lit on the 7800, I am sure the Internet and DSL LEDs were lit on the 8800 before and only the DSL lit on the 7800.

Here is the log, BTW I can still use the internet but one device a VU+Solo2 I have connected via LAN is disconnected while a TalkTalk STB that is connected by LAN is still connected, I have tried using streaming with TalkTalk box and it is working...so it could be the other box that is doing something.

I am going to turn the 8800 off and back on to see if the VU+ box reconnects without any input from me.
Kind regards,
James
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

jamesjay
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 6:34 pm

Re: 8800NL R2 and TalkTalk

Post by jamesjay » Tue Aug 21, 2018 5:08 pm

After a restart the VU+ box connected to the internet with any changes and the DSL and internet LED's on the 8800 are both on so it appears to be something in the VU+ box that is changing the settings, do I have a hacker using my VU+ box and are they changing the settings on my router?

BTW I have static IP's on all my LAN devices and other devices.

Kind regards,
James.

billion_fan
Posts: 5205
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: 8800NL R2 and TalkTalk

Post by billion_fan » Tue Aug 21, 2018 5:42 pm

jamesjay wrote:
Tue Aug 21, 2018 5:08 pm
After a restart the VU+ box connected to the internet with any changes and the DSL and internet LED's on the 8800 are both on so it appears to be something in the VU+ box that is changing the settings, do I have a hacker using my VU+ box and are they changing the settings on my router?

BTW I have static IP's on all my LAN devices and other devices.

Kind regards,
James.
Normally if the 8800 is in bridging mode, the internet LED should be off, as the 8800 is not establishing a PPP connection the 7800 is, hence the internet light on the 7800 should be lit, and DSL light should be lit on the 8800 (as the 8800 is syncing with the line only and the 7800 is establishing the internet connection)

No one can hack your 8800, from the outside unless they have access to your network, as the 8800 in bridging mode and does not acquire WAN IP.

Debugging settings look fine, nothing within the log to worry about

jamesjay
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 6:34 pm

Re: 8800NL R2 and TalkTalk

Post by jamesjay » Tue Aug 21, 2018 6:29 pm

billion_fan wrote:
Tue Aug 21, 2018 5:42 pm
jamesjay wrote:
Tue Aug 21, 2018 5:08 pm
After a restart the VU+ box connected to the internet with any changes and the DSL and internet LED's on the 8800 are both on so it appears to be something in the VU+ box that is changing the settings, do I have a hacker using my VU+ box and are they changing the settings on my router?

BTW I have static IP's on all my LAN devices and other devices.

Kind regards,
James.
Normally if the 8800 is in bridging mode, the internet LED should be off, as the 8800 is not establishing a PPP connection the 7800 is, hence the internet light on the 7800 should be lit, and DSL light should be lit on the 8800 (as the 8800 is syncing with the line only and the 7800 is establishing the internet connection)

No one can hack your 8800, from the outside unless they have access to your network, as the 8800 in bridging mode and does not acquire WAN IP.

Debugging settings look fine, nothing within the log to worry about
Thanks Million_fan,

I have had or think I have had both LED's on since I starting using the 8800 in July 2017, before the weekend I was losing LAN and Wifi on all my devices but this time it was just LAN on the VU+ box. I am streaming on the box now and both LED's are lit...I will see if their both lit if and when I lose the LAN on this box again, maybe the VU+ box is faulty...this box seems to be the common denominator.

Thanks for your help.
James.

Post Reply