Loads of IPv6 router advertisments

Discussions for BiPAC 8800 series: 8800NL
evansnp
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:28 am

Loads of IPv6 router advertisments

Post by evansnp » Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:47 am

A couple of days ago, I created a separate VLAN for BTTV, as I hadn't got around to it since upgrading to the 'd10' firmware. Since then, I'm gettings loads of router advertisments 'RA', and 'RS' messages in the log, despite disabling anything to do with IPv6. Normally, I'd ignore them, but I'm watching my logs to try and work out why my line keeps dropping (see earlier post), so these are just swamping my log server. Is there a hidden IPv6 setting that I've missed somewhere, or is it a bug-et in the new firmware?

billion_fan
Posts: 5205
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Loads of IPv6 router advertisments

Post by billion_fan » Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:27 pm

evansnp wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:47 am
A couple of days ago, I created a separate VLAN for BTTV, as I hadn't got around to it since upgrading to the 'd10' firmware. Since then, I'm gettings loads of router advertisments 'RA', and 'RS' messages in the log, despite disabling anything to do with IPv6. Normally, I'd ignore them, but I'm watching my logs to try and work out why my line keeps dropping (see earlier post), so these are just swamping my log server. Is there a hidden IPv6 setting that I've missed somewhere, or is it a bug-et in the new firmware?
Logs are normal, disable the WAN IPv6 and LAN IPv6 DHCP server, then reboot the device

evansnp
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:28 am

Re: Loads of IPv6 router advertisments

Post by evansnp » Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:48 pm

Hi Billion_Fan, they're already disabled, and I did a reboot when I added the BTTV VLAN. I'm reluctant to reboot again, as my line speed is heading south, at an alarming rate, due to the disconnects mentioned in earlier posts.

billion_fan
Posts: 5205
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Loads of IPv6 router advertisments

Post by billion_fan » Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:25 pm

evansnp wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:48 pm
Hi Billion_Fan, they're already disabled, and I did a reboot when I added the BTTV VLAN. I'm reluctant to reboot again, as my line speed is heading south, at an alarming rate, due to the disconnects mentioned in earlier posts.
Well the logs won't tell you much anyway, other then a drop in DSL or PPP. It would be better to setup a syslog server, for your case

evansnp
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:28 am

Re: Loads of IPv6 router advertisments

Post by evansnp » Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:31 pm

It would be better to setup a syslog server, for your case
I have :-)

davews
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 7:47 pm

Re: Loads of IPv6 router advertisments

Post by davews » Wed Mar 07, 2018 9:47 am

New user, 8800NL R2 installed yesterday on my BT ADSL connection. Seems fine, and unlike the OP I actually want, and have configured, IPv6 which is working as it should.

But I also noticed the advertisment entries in the log:
daemon warn radvd[9181]: received RA ......
which are added every 5 minutes or so day and night. This just fills up the log. Is it possible to disable the log entries - but keep IPv6?

Still on the supplied 2.52.d4 firmware, have downloaded the latest 2.54.d10 but not installed at the moment.

billion_fan
Posts: 5205
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Loads of IPv6 router advertisments

Post by billion_fan » Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:47 am

davews wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 9:47 am
New user, 8800NL R2 installed yesterday on my BT ADSL connection. Seems fine, and unlike the OP I actually want, and have configured, IPv6 which is working as it should.

But I also noticed the advertisment entries in the log:
daemon warn radvd[9181]: received RA ......
which are added every 5 minutes or so day and night. This just fills up the log. Is it possible to disable the log entries - but keep IPv6?

Still on the supplied 2.52.d4 firmware, have downloaded the latest 2.54.d10 but not installed at the moment.
Try changing the log level/display level to 'Error' logging only (Configuration >> System >> Configure Log)

Apply the change and restart the router

evansnp
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:28 am

Re: Loads of IPv6 router advertisments

Post by evansnp » Thu Mar 08, 2018 6:55 pm

Hi Billion_Fan. I've just reset my router, as my line just dropped again, but I'm still getting RA, and RS logs by the dozen. Strangely, under 'IPV6 Autoconfig', the other VLAN doesn't appear in the 'groups' dropdown, only 'default' is there. Surely, this is not correct?
ipv6.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

billion_fan
Posts: 5205
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Loads of IPv6 router advertisments

Post by billion_fan » Fri Mar 09, 2018 9:23 am

evansnp wrote:
Thu Mar 08, 2018 6:55 pm
Hi Billion_Fan. I've just reset my router, as my line just dropped again, but I'm still getting RA, and RS logs by the dozen. Strangely, under 'IPV6 Autoconfig', the other VLAN doesn't appear in the 'groups' dropdown, only 'default' is there. Surely, this is not correct?ipv6.PNG
That is because IPv6 is not supported for Interface grouping.

Regarding the logs it might be the bridge WAN. My test lines are in use at the moment, so can't test

evansnp
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:28 am

Re: Loads of IPv6 router advertisments

Post by evansnp » Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:48 am

Hi Billion_Fan; FYI, I updated my firmware to the 'd12' release yesterday, and noticed that the logs were still full of RA, RS announcements, even though IPV6 was disabled. As nobody else seems to complain about this, I decided to investigate further. I fixed it by applying IPV6 DHCP, and then disabled it again, and the problem has gone away. I recon that it got stuck during one of the many firmware upgrades in the past, and the many log entries were hampering tracing real issues, and filling up my syslog server........ result!

Post Reply