Page 1 of 1

Help with WiFi Extender - Access Point - Ethernet

Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 12:03 pm
by DontEatTheYellowSnow
Hi

:? I'm confused.

The run from the 7800DXL to one particular room is some distance, with thick walls.

We ran an Ethernet CAT from 7800DXL to this room ages ago so a laptop could be used,
but now I want to have "WiFi" in that room.

I've tried to get a signal there with WiFi Repeaters positioned as a Daisy cChain but it wasn't successful.

I then brought a;

TP-Link RE200 AC750 Universal Dual Band Range Extender, Broadband/Wi-Fi Extender,
Wi-Fi Booster/Hotspot with Ethernet Port, Plug and Play, Smart Signal Indicator, UK Plug


I brought this TP Link because I thought I read that you could use the Ethernet Port - to not only
connect 4K TV's to network BUT ALSO use the Ethernet connection so that the WiFi Repeater actually
transmits WiFi into the room as an Access Point.

So that Tablets and mobile phones can be used.

Is there a way to do this - or is it than more than likely ,I've got this idea completely wrong.

Thanks in advance.

Stephen

Re: Help with WiFi Extender - Access Point - Ethernet

Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 12:46 pm
by billion_fan
DontEatTheYellowSnow wrote:
Fri Apr 20, 2018 12:03 pm
Hi

:? I'm confused.

The run from the 7800DXL to one particular room is some distance, with thick walls.

We ran an Ethernet CAT from 7800DXL to this room ages ago so a laptop could be used,
but now I want to have "WiFi" in that room.

I've tried to get a signal there with WiFi Repeaters positioned as a Daisy cChain but it wasn't successful.

I then brought a;

TP-Link RE200 AC750 Universal Dual Band Range Extender, Broadband/Wi-Fi Extender,
Wi-Fi Booster/Hotspot with Ethernet Port, Plug and Play, Smart Signal Indicator, UK Plug


I brought this TP Link because I thought I read that you could use the Ethernet Port - to not only
connect 4K TV's to network BUT ALSO use the Ethernet connection so that the WiFi Repeater actually
transmits WiFi into the room as an Access Point.

So that Tablets and mobile phones can be used.

Is there a way to do this - or is it than more than likely ,I've got this idea completely wrong.

Thanks in advance.

Stephen
You might need to check with TP link (I can only comment on the Billion), you can also test your Ethernet connection from the 7800DXL with a laptop to see if can obtain a IP address and access the internet to make sure Ethernet connection is working properly.

Re: Help with WiFi Extender - Access Point - Ethernet

Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 11:35 pm
by DontEatTheYellowSnow
Thank you billion_fan.

Ethernet is working fine.

Basically I just wanted to know that if an ethernet cable
is plugged into any WiFi Extender can it/does it change
the "extender" to transmit WiFi from the unit itself?

OR IS IT JUST to plug in anything that can use ethernet,
say a laptop?

Of course in reality I wouldn't need a WiFi repeater to
plug in a laptop because if the Cat cable is there already
it would work just fine.

Or am I missing something?

Thanks in advance.

Stephen

Re: Help with WiFi Extender - Access Point - Ethernet

Posted: Thu Apr 26, 2018 5:05 pm
by billion_fan
DontEatTheYellowSnow wrote:
Fri Apr 20, 2018 11:35 pm
Thank you billion_fan.

Ethernet is working fine.

Basically I just wanted to know that if an ethernet cable
is plugged into any WiFi Extender can it/does it change
the "extender" to transmit WiFi from the unit itself?

OR IS IT JUST to plug in anything that can use ethernet,
say a laptop?

Of course in reality I wouldn't need a WiFi repeater to
plug in a laptop because if the Cat cable is there already
it would work just fine.

Or am I missing something?

Thanks in advance.

Stephen
It all depends on the device it self, I have never used a TP-Link extender before so hard to comment, with the Billion (EOL) version 3100SN, I know this was possible, only TP-link will be able to answer your question.