Has anyone set up VyprVPN on 7800N

shauny
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:48 pm

Re: Has anyone set up VyprVPN on 7800N

Post by shauny » Thu May 31, 2012 9:44 am

Hi

Apologies - only just managed to get back to try it.

Yes! When I try MS-CHAP and hit connect, it gives me a VPN IP address (although www.whatsmyip.org seems to show the old IP address still - probably just need to reconnect). It looks like I'm VPN'd!

Many, many thanks.

Shaun

shauny
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:48 pm

Re: Has anyone set up VyprVPN on 7800N

Post by shauny » Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:54 pm

Hi

I'm not sure this is working though...

When I sign into the VPN it seems to say connected, but my IP address on whatsmyip.org is still the same (even after a reboot) and location based logins still see me as UK, even if I use the US vpn address....
Screen Shot 2012-06-01 at 16.50.12.png
Any ideas what I'm missing?

TIA
Shaun
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

billion_fan
Posts: 5209
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Has anyone set up VyprVPN on 7800N

Post by billion_fan » Fri Jun 01, 2012 5:19 pm

Hi shauny

I am discussing the issue with our engineers at the moment.

Should have something next week, as it bank holiday weekend, we won't be able to discuss the issue further until wednesday.

billion_fan
Posts: 5209
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Has anyone set up VyprVPN on 7800N

Post by billion_fan » Wed Jun 06, 2012 11:51 am

Hi shauny

After speaking to our engineers the only option I can think of is using a static router to route all traffic over the VPN tunnel.

As the PPTP function on the 7800 does not route traffic through the VPN tunnel, it only establishes a TCP/IP connection from one network to another.

Thanks

shauny
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:48 pm

Re: Has anyone set up VyprVPN on 7800N

Post by shauny » Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:49 pm

Hi

Ah, so it's not really a VPN client then, or rather it doesn't do what you'd expect a VPN client to do (i.e. route traffic over the private network).

Oh well, thanks for the help though - I guess I'll have to figure out some way of putting VPN hardware in front of the Billion router!

jazzist
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 9:38 pm

Re: Has anyone set up VyprVPN on 7800N

Post by jazzist » Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:05 pm

Surely if the connection is established then you can just change the settings on the PC you want to use the VPN?
Change default gateway to the IP address of the VPN? Or change gateway in router settings?

shauny
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 9:48 pm

Re: Has anyone set up VyprVPN on 7800N

Post by shauny » Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:41 pm

Yes, but it's not a pc, it's a TV I need to be connected over the VPN..... :-)

jazzist
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 9:38 pm

Re: Has anyone set up VyprVPN on 7800N

Post by jazzist » Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:24 pm

I've done some extensive Googling :)
What about this for changing the gateway IP address that the 7800 uses?

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-re ... 1734780#r4

vpnstatic
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2012 4:57 pm

Re: Has anyone set up VyprVPN on 7800N

Post by vpnstatic » Thu Sep 06, 2012 5:00 pm

Hi, I'm looking for some help in setting up a static route over the VPN. I have the VPN connected but I'm struggling to route the traffic through it using a static route.

Has anyone here done this?

billion_fan
Posts: 5209
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Has anyone set up VyprVPN on 7800N

Post by billion_fan » Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:53 am

vpnstatic wrote:Hi, I'm looking for some help in setting up a static route over the VPN. I have the VPN connected but I'm struggling to route the traffic through it using a static route.

Has anyone here done this?

Discussion below

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=490

Post Reply