[Moved] Moving Leased DHCP entries to Permanent table

Got a suggestion or want to add something to our future wishlist?
Post Reply

Would you like to have a "Make Permanent" option for Leased DHCP entries ?

Yes, I'd like it!
7
100%
No, don't see the interest.
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 7

DanielD
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:59 pm

[Moved] Moving Leased DHCP entries to Permanent table

Post by DanielD » Fri Jul 29, 2011 2:47 pm

Hi,

First, congratulation for this forum, a long awaited addition indeed!

I tought this could be a best place to suggest an enhancement to the Billion (7402GXL and others) interface since it may be possible to gather the opinion of other owners on this (and test the poll feature btw...):

I would love to have a way in the interface to simply move DHCP entries from the Leased table to the Permanent table.

Currently the only way I know is to do this manually by:
- Copying the data one by one from Status>DHCP Table>Leased,
- Then go to Configuration>Lan>DHCP Server,
- click "Next" button
- click "Fixed hosts" link
- then finally create the entry from there...

(check http://www.billion.com/edu/3g/Demo-wireless-7402GX/ to get a better idea of the process)

This is fastiduous, and since it is recommended to re-build the configuration from scratch after a firmware update, I have to re-do this every now and then for my servers (ipcams, nas, ...). I know I could just set fixed address directly in each server separately but I preffer to keep this kind of thing centralized.

It looks like an easy enhancement that would really make the reconfiguration process much faster. What do you think ? Does it make sense ?
Daniel
Billion Bipac 7402GXL - fw 6.22b

billion_fan
Posts: 5205
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Moving Leased DHCP entries to Permanent table

Post by billion_fan » Fri Jul 29, 2011 3:15 pm

Good suggestion, I think this should of been posted in the 'Suggestions and Wishlist' section.

Maybe admin should move it

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 2:53 pm

Re: Moving Leased DHCP entries to Permanent table

Post by admin » Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:04 pm

Post moved to correct section, thanks!

billford
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:47 pm

Re: [Moved] Moving Leased DHCP entries to Permanent table

Post by billford » Sun Jul 31, 2011 7:32 am

I've effectively voted "Don't Care"... ie I didn't vote :D

Simple reason- unlike the OP I prefer that each device (that doesn't use DHCP) sets its own IP, that way I don't have to bother about re-configuration after a firmware change or even a router swap.

barbuduccle
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:45 pm

Re: [Moved] Moving Leased DHCP entries to Permanent table

Post by barbuduccle » Wed Oct 19, 2011 11:48 pm

I'd find this useful.

Post Reply