Page 13 of 15

Re: 7800N Sky FTTC test firmware now working (UPDATED 16/5)

Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:20 pm
by Tophouse
Hi, can someone please clarify for me, if I obtain a Billion Bipac 7800n, if I want to use it for Sky fiber broadband, will it not work as a one box solution/replacement for the crappy sky 102 box?

Re: 7800N Sky FTTC test firmware now working (UPDATED 16/5)

Posted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 12:40 pm
by dog-man
I have been using this firmware for some years now and it works well.

However,

Sly have enabled IPv6 at my exchange and using IPv6 test -

http://ipv6-test.com/

I only score 12 out of 20 for IPv6 but it is reachable.

Is there something I must change in the router config to improve this?

Using another computer I have with similar specs to the one above, I only score 4 out of 20 and IPv6 is not reachable.
I am confused. :shock:

Re: 7800N Sky FTTC test firmware now working (UPDATED 16/5)

Posted: Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:17 pm
by Gerry1974
Hi could someone post a full set up guide including cable set up as no matter what i can't get this to work. Mostly can't log back into the router after i try to make the changes or it does not work at all no internet connection. I have currently had to plug the router into the sky hub to get the net on, which is not the point in having this router. I have extracted the username and PW but simply does not work when i input everything.

Could some one please put together a full walk trough on how to get this set up with sky fibre inc all steps and screen shots, kind of like a detailed instruction or work instruction if you like.

Please please i need some help.

Re: 7800N Sky FTTC test firmware now working (UPDATED 16/5)

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 9:35 am
by billion_fan
Gerry1974 wrote:Hi could someone post a full set up guide including cable set up as no matter what i can't get this to work. Mostly can't log back into the router after i try to make the changes or it does not work at all no internet connection. I have currently had to plug the router into the sky hub to get the net on, which is not the point in having this router. I have extracted the username and PW but simply does not work when i input everything.

Could some one please put together a full walk trough on how to get this set up with sky fibre inc all steps and screen shots, kind of like a detailed instruction or work instruction if you like.

Please please i need some help.
Do you have a open reach modem or a VDSL modem?? (as the 7800N does not have a VDSL modem built it, so must be used as a two box solution)

Re: 7800N Sky FTTC test firmware now working (UPDATED 16/5)

Posted: Fri Sep 30, 2016 5:28 pm
by Gerry1974
No i dont have an openreach modem or a vdsl modem

Re: 7800N Sky FTTC test firmware now working (UPDATED 16/5)

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:36 am
by billion_fan
Gerry1974 wrote:No i dont have an openreach modem or a vdsl modem
You need one, as the 7800N does not have a VDSL modem built in

Re: 7800N Sky FTTC test firmware now working (UPDATED 16/5)

Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2016 8:30 pm
by Gerry1974
I have ordered a open reach vdsl modem, that should do the job?

Re: 7800N Sky FTTC test firmware now working (UPDATED 16/5)

Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 9:20 am
by billion_fan
Gerry1974 wrote:I have ordered a open reach vdsl modem, that should do the job?
Yes that should do the job, then you can setup the 7800N to use a EWAN connection, 'Obtain A IP address Automatically' with 'Client ID' for your username and password eg [email protected]|password (you must use this format when entering the username and password, a '|' must be used in between the username and password

Example screen shot of your step attached

Re: 7800N Sky FTTC test firmware now working (UPDATED 16/5)

Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:20 pm
by Gerry1974
Thanks for your help i will try it out as soon as modem arrives :D

Re: 7800N Sky FTTC test firmware now working (UPDATED 16/5)

Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 7:02 pm
by Gerry1974
Can only get 28m and i was getting 70m with sky router, anyone help with this?