TalkTalk Fibre

Discussions for BiPAC 8200 series VDSL modem /router: 8200M, 8200N
Limpingadam
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 4:19 pm

TalkTalk Fibre

Post by Limpingadam » Thu Feb 26, 2015 4:21 pm

Hello,

I've got through many of the posts on here regarding the router including the one on the billion website found here.

I have set the 'setting' to automatic, but it keeps trying to connect and failing not getting any up or down, but it goes to a 'green tick' on the status page.

I have also upgraded the firmware to 1.06a.

Any ideas why my billion will not connect, got a 7800n been using that along with the open reach router nah problems, that is the ECI version.

Confused as to why it's not just got on with things. Reason I've changed over is to see if I can get an all in one sorted fed up more wires then a rats nest, and the fact that you can't set anything on the modem, especially DNS, as Talk Talk DNS is constantly having issues.

Any ideas welcome.

billion_fan
Posts: 5048
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: TalkTalk Fibre

Post by billion_fan » Thu Feb 26, 2015 4:40 pm

Limpingadam wrote:Hello,

I've got through many of the posts on here regarding the router including the one on the billion website found here.

I have set the 'setting' to automatic, but it keeps trying to connect and failing not getting any up or down, but it goes to a 'green tick' on the status page.

I have also upgraded the firmware to 1.06a.

Any ideas why my billion will not connect, got a 7800n been using that along with the open reach router nah problems, that is the ECI version.

Confused as to why it's not just got on with things. Reason I've changed over is to see if I can get an all in one sorted fed up more wires then a rats nest, and the fact that you can't set anything on the modem, especially DNS, as Talk Talk DNS is constantly having issues.

Any ideas welcome.
Did you setup the VLAN??

Limpingadam
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 4:19 pm

Re: TalkTalk Fibre

Post by Limpingadam » Thu Feb 26, 2015 11:42 pm

Set it to 101 and Wan Tag.

There's doesn't seem to be any login details for talk talk but yet it feels like the router needs there to be.

billion_fan
Posts: 5048
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: TalkTalk Fibre

Post by billion_fan » Fri Feb 27, 2015 9:27 am

Limpingadam wrote:Set it to 101 and Wan Tag.

There's doesn't seem to be any login details for talk talk but yet it feels like the router needs there to be.
On your 7800N (when connected to your open reach modem) are using PPPOE or Obtain a IP address automatically?? (EWAN settings)

Limpingadam
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 4:19 pm

Re: TalkTalk Fibre

Post by Limpingadam » Fri Feb 27, 2015 9:53 am

EWAN obtaining automatically.

I have set the 8200N to do the same currently, as VDSL just won't have it on automatic.

billion_fan
Posts: 5048
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: TalkTalk Fibre

Post by billion_fan » Fri Feb 27, 2015 10:04 am

Limpingadam wrote:EWAN obtaining automatically.

I have set the 8200N to do the same currently, as VDSL just won't have it on automatic.
What's listed within the system log?

Limpingadam
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 4:19 pm

Re: TalkTalk Fibre

Post by Limpingadam » Fri Feb 27, 2015 11:08 am

When it fails?

All I can see it there on a fresh reboot with automatic VDSL settings and 101 put in the VLAN on the correct settings.

[Jan 1 00:00:18 dnsmasq[330]: using nameserver 8.8.4.4#53
Jan 1 00:00:18 dnsmasq[330]: using nameserver 8.8.8.8#53
Jan 1 00:00:18 UPNPD[348]: HTTP listening on port 2800
Jan 1 00:00:18 UPNPD[348]: uuidvalue=uuid:28802880-2880-1880-a880-0004edd87db0
Jan 1 00:00:21 syslog: webs: admin (192.168.1.100) login... *]

I must add I changed to this firmware sometime last night [1.06a.dd2.dt1]

billion_fan
Posts: 5048
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: TalkTalk Fibre

Post by billion_fan » Fri Feb 27, 2015 11:41 am

Limpingadam wrote:When it fails?

All I can see it there on a fresh reboot with automatic VDSL settings and 101 put in the VLAN on the correct settings.

[Jan 1 00:00:18 dnsmasq[330]: using nameserver 8.8.4.4#53
Jan 1 00:00:18 dnsmasq[330]: using nameserver 8.8.8.8#53
Jan 1 00:00:18 UPNPD[348]: HTTP listening on port 2800
Jan 1 00:00:18 UPNPD[348]: uuidvalue=uuid:28802880-2880-1880-a880-0004edd87db0
Jan 1 00:00:21 syslog: webs: admin (192.168.1.100) login... *]

I must add I changed to this firmware sometime last night [1.06a.dd2.dt1]
Is the DSL light on solid on the front of the router?

Limpingadam
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 4:19 pm

Re: TalkTalk Fibre

Post by Limpingadam » Fri Feb 27, 2015 11:53 am

Pretty sure it flashes and the internet one is orange.

billion_fan
Posts: 5048
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: TalkTalk Fibre

Post by billion_fan » Fri Feb 27, 2015 12:10 pm

Limpingadam wrote:Pretty sure it flashes and the internet one is orange.
If it flashes this means it is unable to sync, normally the DSL light should be on solid, on the status page of the router under 'Port Status' does the 'VDSL' section have a green tick next to it??

Post Reply